Songs and Scenes: July 19, 2015

Worship Night Recap 4

Songs and Scenes is a weekly blog review of songs, readings and prayers featured in The Crossing’s Sunday morning liturgy. Today’s liturgy recap features photos by Lana Eklund. There are links in the song titles that will allow you to listen to or purchase recorded versions of the songs when available.


1. 10,000 Reason (Bless the Lord) by Matt Redman and Jonas Myrin

Bless the Lord, O my soul, O my soul;
worship His holy name.
Sing like never before, O my soul;
I’ll worship Your holy name.

And on that day when my strength is failing
the end draws near and my time has come,
still my soul will sing Your praise unending;
Ten thousand years and then forevermore.


2. I’m Yours by Asher Seevinck & Dave Wilton

 I am no longer a slave.
I am no longer afraid.
You gave me a voice and a song,
You taught me how to sing.
Now I have brothers and sisters,
You gave me a family.

I’m Yours, I’m Yours,
You called me Your child.
I’m Yours, I’m Yours,
You bought me with blood.


3. Song of Confession: Rock of Ages – Words: Augustus M. Toplady (1776), Contemporary chorus by Page CXVI (2009). Arrangement by Page CXVI and David Wilton

Not the labor of my hands
Can fulfill Thy law’s demands;
Could my zeal no respite know,
Could my tears forever flow,
All for sin could not atone;
Thou must save, and Thou alone.


4. You Have Redeemed My Soul by Don and Lori Chafer, Arrangement by The Crossing Music.

I was a hungry child, a dried up river.
I was a burned out forest
and no one could do anything for me.
But You put food in my body,
water in my dry bed,
and to my blackened branches
you brought the springtime green of new life.


5. Sweet Comfort by Sandra McCracken and Latifah Phillips. Lyrics adapted from a hymn text by Samuel Rodigast (1676) and translated by Ca­ther­ine Wink­worth (1863).

Whatever my God ordains is right
His holy will abides
I will be still whatever he does
And follow where he guides

Sweet comfort, sweet comfort
Yet shall fill my heart
Sweet comfort, sweet comfort
Sorrow shall depart


Music Team for July 19, 2015:

Kali Binkley: vocals
Andrew Camp: vocals, electric gutiar
Kristen Camp: vocals
Alex Dereszynski: electric guitars
Rhett Johnson: drums
Johnny Tucker: piano

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>