Songs and Scenes: August 28, 2016


Songs and Scenes is a weekly blog review of songs, readings and prayers featured in The Crossing’s Sunday morning liturgy. We’ve included a link to a Spotify playlist of Sunday’s songs (when available) so you can enjoy listening to them throughout your week.

1. Abide by Liz Vice

Jesus we will throw away our lives to follow you
Struggling in your strength, resting in your truth
Jesus, you’re so beautiful, you give vision to the blind
You in us, the hope of glory, in you we will abide

2. How Great Thou Art by Stuart K. Hine

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder
Consider all the worlds thy hands have made,
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed:

Then sings my soul my Savior God to Thee
How great Thou art! How great Thou art!

3. My Heart is Glad (Psalm 16) by Aaron Strumpel and The Crossing Music

I have set the LORD always before me;
because He is at my right hand,
I will not be shaken.
Keep me safe, my God;
I have come to You,
I have come to You for refuge.

Is it any wonder that my heart is glad?
Is it any wonder that my heart is glad?
I rejoice.

4. The House of God Forever by Jon Foreman

God is my shepherd
I won’t be wanting. I won’t be wanting.
He makes me rest
in fields of green with quiet streams.
Even though I walk
through the valley of death and dying
I will not fear ’cause you are with me,
You’re always with me.

5. I’m Yours by Asher Seevinck & Dave Wilton

I am no longer a slave.
I am no longer afraid.
You gave me a voice and a song,
You taught me how to sing.
Now I have brothers and sisters,
You gave me a family.

I’m Yours, I’m Yours,
You called me Your child.
I’m Yours, I’m Yours,
You bought me with blood.

6. I Want to Run by The Crossing Music featuring Rahlo

Let us throw off everything that hinders
and the sin that so easily entangles,
and let us run with perseverance
the race marked out for us.
Let us fix our eyes on Jesus.

Music Team for August 28, 2016:

Kali Binkley: vocals
Danile Burke-Aguero: vocals, saxophone
Nathan Casey: vocals
David Cover: vocals, bass, acoustic guitars
AnDréa Jackson: vocals
Rhett Johnson: electric guitar, bass
Connor Kespohl: trombone, percussion
Andrew Luley: drums
Norm Ruebling: percussion
Guimel Sibingo: vocals
Johnny Tucker: trumpet, keys

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>