Getting Ready for Sunday January 1 at The Crossing

We start the new year with Justin Garrett preaching a sermon entitled, “Why Your New Year’s Resolution Will Likely Fail” from Ephesians 4:22–32. The Scripture reads,

22 You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23 to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24 and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

25 Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to your neighbor, for we are all members of one body. 26 “In your anger do not sin”: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27 and do not give the devil a foothold. 28 Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need.

29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

We all want our life to improve, to make changes that means 2017 will be a better year. And yet we also know how typically futile the whole process is. Why is that? What does God say about our desires and efforts to change? New Year’s Day is a great chance to start the year well by worshipping God together and looking out toward 2017.

Here’s our song list for this Sunday (with links to lyrics and music):

I Sing the Mighty Power of God [listen and lyrics] – words by Isaac Watts; additional lyrics by Scott Johnson and Keith Scherer; music by Scott Johnson, Andrew Camp, and Andrew Luley

Almighty God [lyrics and listen] – Leslie Jordan, David Leonard, and Sandra McCracken

Great is Thy Faithfulness [lyrics; Sandra McCracken version] – words by Thomas O. Chisholm; music by William M. Runyan

Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing [lyrics; King Kaleidoscope version] – words by Robert Robinson; music by John Wyeth

All Glory be to Christ [lyrics; listen] – Dustin Kensrue

See you on Sunday!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>